Close menu
Arkansas Derby Contender Spotlight: Basin
Basin winning the Hopeful (Credit: NYRA)

Arkansas Derby Contender Spotlight: Basin

HOT SPRINGS, AR – Jackpot Farm’s Basin is hoping that the third time will be the charm when he makes his third start of the year in Saturday’s 1st division of the $500,000 Arkansas Derby (G1) at Oaklawn Park.

( Content Continues Below Ad )

Basin broke his maiden at second asking while covering 6 furlongs at Saratoga in July, then romped over the same course by 6 1/2 lengths in the 7-furlong Hopeful Stakes (G1) on Labor Day. An injury to his right hind leg discovered shortly after the Hopeful was not serious enough to require surgery, but it did mean time on the shelf to recover.

Basin made his return to the races in March’s Rebel Stakes (G2), finishing a well-beaten third after encountering traffic troubles at the top of the Oaklawn Park stretch. Trainer Steve Asmussen kept the Liam’s Map colt in Hot Springs for the Oaklawn Stakes, but he finished fourth after failing to sustain a mid-race move. The meet’s leading rider Ricardo Santana, Jr., is back aboard for the first time since Basin’s maiden-breaking effort.

Click here to subscribe to our monthly premium products & be the first to receive our Inside Track to the Arkansas Derby Wagering Guide that also includes full coverage of Friday’s Fantasy Stakes (G3)!

The Arkansas Derby is a Kentucky Derby (G1) prep race awarding a total of 170 points to the top four finishers. The winner will receive 100 points, with 40 going to second, 20 to third, and 10 to fourth.

Here is the full field for the 1st division of the Arkansas Derby (click on each horse’s name to read an exclusive preview):

PostHorseJockeyTrainerMorning Line
1CharlatanMartin GarciaBob Baffert1/1
2My Friends BeerDeclan CannonJeremiah O'Dwyer20/1
3Mo MosaKendrick CarmoucheMike Maker30/1
4Gouverneur MorrisJohn VelazquezTodd Pletcher9/2
5Jungle RunnerTyler BazeSteve Asmussen30/1
6Shooters ShootJoe TalamoPeter Eurton8/1
7Wrecking CrewFlavien PratPeter Miller20/1
8Anneau d'OrJuan HernandezBlaine Wright6/1
9Winning ImpressionJulien LeparouxDallas Stewart15/1
10Crypto CashCorey LanerieKenny McPeek20/1
11BasinRicardo Santana, Jr.Steve Asmussen8/1

Join the Inner Circle

Sign up for exclusive 10% discount on orders, plus be the first to access our daily free and premium horse racing picks, articles, podcasts, and more!

Sign Up