Close menu
Arkansas Derby Contender Spotlight: Gouverneur Morris
Gouverneur Morris breaking his maiden (Credit: NYRA)

Arkansas Derby Contender Spotlight: Gouverneur Morris

HOT SPRINGS, AR – Team Valor International and WinStar Farm’s Gouverneur Morris will attempt to make good on the tremendous promise that he showed as a juvenile in Saturday’s 1st division of the $500,000 Arkansas Derby (G1) at Oaklawn Park.

( Content Continues Below Ad )

Gouverneur Morris debuted to great aplomb on Labor Day at Saratoga and won by 9 lengths in the slop, then finished second in the Breeders’ Futurity (G1) at Keeneland. The Constitution colt waited until Valentine’s Day to return to the track and the winner’s circle in an allowance/optional claiming event at Tampa Bay Downs.

Gouverneur Morris is one of four runners in the field to have already traversed this 1 1/8-mile distance, as he finished fourth in the Florida Derby (G1) at Gulfstream Park last time out. Trainer Todd Pletcher has won the Arkansas Derby more than any other trainer, doing so five times (2000, 2001, 2013, 2014, and 2018).

Click here to subscribe to our monthly premium products & be the first to receive our Inside Track to the Arkansas Derby Wagering Guide that also includes full coverage of Friday’s Fantasy Stakes (G3)!

The Arkansas Derby is a Kentucky Derby (G1) prep race awarding a total of 170 points to the top four finishers. The winner will receive 100 points, with 40 going to second, 20 to third, and 10 to fourth.

Here is the full field for the 1st division of the Arkansas Derby (click on each horse’s name to read an exclusive preview):

PostHorseJockeyTrainerMorning Line
1CharlatanMartin GarciaBob Baffert1/1
2My Friends BeerDeclan CannonJeremiah O'Dwyer20/1
3Mo MosaKendrick CarmoucheMike Maker30/1
4Gouverneur MorrisJohn VelazquezTodd Pletcher9/2
5Jungle RunnerTyler BazeSteve Asmussen30/1
6Shooters ShootJoe TalamoPeter Eurton8/1
7Wrecking CrewFlavien PratPeter Miller20/1
8Anneau d'OrJuan HernandezBlaine Wright6/1
9Winning ImpressionJulien LeparouxDallas Stewart15/1
10Crypto CashCorey LanerieKenny McPeek20/1
11BasinRicardo Santana, Jr.Steve Asmussen8/1

Join the Inner Circle

Sign up for exclusive 10% discount on orders, plus be the first to access our daily free and premium horse racing picks, articles, podcasts, and more!

Sign Up