Close menu
Horse of the Year, Eclipse Award Finalists Announced

Horse of the Year, Eclipse Award Finalists Announced

LEXINGTON, KY – Led by Horse of the Year candidates Arrogate, Gun Runner, and World Approval, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), the Daily Racing Form (DRF), and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB) announced the finalists for the 2017 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing.

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 47th annual Eclipse Awards dinner and ceremony, presented by DRF, Breeders’ Cup, and The Stronach Group, on Thursday, January 25, at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, FL.

Of the 269 eligible voters representing the NTRA, the NTWAB, and DRF, 250 (92.9%) took part in this year’s voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

Pegasus World Cup Wagering Guide

The 2017 Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Horse of the Year: Arrogate, Gun Runner, World Approval

Two-Year-Old Male: Bolt d’Oro, Good Magic, Solomini

Two-Year-Old Filly: Caledonia Road, Moonshine Memories, Rushing Fall

Three-Year-Old Male: Always Dreaming, Battle of Midway, West Coast

Three-Year-Old Filly: Abel Tasman, Elate, Unique Bella

Older Dirt Male: Arrogate, Collected, Gun Runner

Older Dirt Female: Forever Unbridled, Songbird, Stellar Wind 

Male Sprinter: Imperial Hint, Mind Your Biscuits, Roy H 

Female Sprinter: Bar of Gold, Paulassilverlining, Unique Bella

Male Turf Horse: Beach Patrol, Talismanic, World Approval 

Female Turf Horse: Lady Eli, Off Limits, Wuheida

Steeplechase Horse: All the Way Jose, Mr. Hot Stuff, Scorpiancer

Owner: Godolphin Racing, Juddmonte Farms, Winchell Thoroughbreds & Three Chimneys Farm 

Breeder: Besilu Stables, Clearsky Farms, WinStar Farm

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Bob Baffert, Chad Brown

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Jose Ortiz, Mike Smith

Apprentice Jockey:  Katie Clawson, Hector Rafael Diaz Jr., Evin A. Roman

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Frank Stronach, a Thoroughbred owner, breeder, and racetrack owner, will receive the Eclipse Award of Merit for a lifetime of achievement in the Thoroughbred industry. Ray Arsenault will receive an Eclipse Award as the 2017 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Join the Inner Circle

Sign Up