Close menu
Technical Analysis, Shantisara Headline Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup
Technical Analysis (Credit: NYRA)

Technical Analysis, Shantisara Headline Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup

LEXINGTON, KY – Klaravich Stables’ 2-time graded stakes winner Technical Analysis and Michael Dubb, Madaket Stables, and Robert LaPenta’s Shantisara headline a field of 10 3-year-old fillies entered Wednesday for Saturday’s 38th running of the Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup (G1) Presented by Dixiana.

The 1 1/8-mile grass test will go as the eighth race on Saturday’s 10-race program with a 4:44 PM ET post time. First post Saturday is 1 PM.


Did you know active subscribers receive our Betting Bibles absolutely FREE? Subscribe today and be the first to receive our upcoming MONSTER 2023 Breeders’ Cup Betting Bible!

Chad Brown, who has saddled 3 winners of this race to match the feat of Jimmy Toner and John Veitch, trains both Technical Analysis and Shantisara.

A winner of 4 of 6 career starts, Technical Analysis enters Saturday’s race off victories in the Lake Placid (G2) and Lake George (G3) at Saratoga. Technical Analysis will leave from post 2and be ridden by Jose Ortiz.

Shantisara has won 2 of 3 starts since coming to North America, recording victories in the Pucker Up (G3) at Arlington and the Jockey Club Oaks Invitational at Belmont Park. Flavien Prat has the mount on Shantisara, who will exit post 3.

Headlining the European contingent Saturday is Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor, and Derrick Smith’s Empress Josephine for trainer Aidan O’Brien.

Empress Josephine is following in a trail blazed 10 years ago by Together for the same connections. Together ran second in the First Lady (G1) and a week later closed her career with a victory in the Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup.

Empress Josephine finished third in Saturday’s First Lady under John Velazquez, who retains the mount and will break from post position four.

Velazquez has won the Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup a record 5 times beginning in 1995 with Perfect Arc. His other winners are Alwajeeha (2008), Crown Queen (2014), Time and Motion (2016), and Cambier Parc (2019).

Also coming from Europe is James Wigan’s Cloudy Dawn, winner of the Prix de Lieurey (G3) at Deauville, and Katsumi Yoshida’s Nicest, most recently third in the Juddmonte Irish Oaks (G1). Brian Hernandez Jr. rides Cloudy Dawn from post 9. Julien Leparoux will be aboard Nicest from post five.

The field for the Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup, with riders from the inside, is:

  1. Burning Ambition (Florent Geroux)
  2. Technical Analysis (Ortiz)
  3. Shantisara (Prat)
  4. Empress Josephine (Velazquez)
  5. Nicest (Leparoux)
  6. Queen Goddess (Tyler Gaffalione)
  7. Lady Speightspeare (Emma-Jayne Wilson)
  8. Flippant (Rafael Bejarano)
  9. Cloudy Dawn (Hernandez Jr.)
  10. Closing Remarks (Umberto Rispoli)

All starters will carry 121 pounds.

Join the Inner Circle

Sign up for exclusive 10% discount on orders, plus be the first to access our daily free and premium horse racing picks, articles, podcasts, and more!

Sign Up