Close menu
Risen Star Stakes

Risen Star Stakes

On Saturday, February 19, 2022, Epicenter rebounded from his Lecomte loss with a dominating win in the $400,000 Risen Star Stakes (G2) at Fair Grounds. With the win, Epicenter earned 50 points for the win in the Road to the Kentucky Derby Championship Series.

No matter if you’re looking for Risen Star contenders, entries, odds, 2022 results, news, past winners and payouts, picks and tips, or handicapping advice, you will have the most updated information here.


( Content Continues Below Ad )


Race Recap/Replay

With his patented front-running style, Steve Asmussen’s Epicenter was able to dominate in the $400,000 Risen Star Stakes (G2) at Fair Grounds.

Improving his earnings to $410,639 with three wins and a second from five starts, Epicenter picked up 50 points on the Road to the Kentucky Derby to secure his spot in the starting gate for the owners of Winchell Thoroughbreds.

See the finishing order, results, and payouts below. Also, click the link to download our 2022 Inside Track to the Risen Star wagering guide. These wagering guides are included at least once a month as part of our premium picks packages.

5EpicenterSteve AsmussenJoel Rosario9.004.203.20
8Smile HappyKenny McPeekCorey Lanerie3.802.80
7ZandonChad BrownJose Ortiz3.60
$0.50 Pick 31-7-5 (3 Correct)$1,564.70$283,782
$0.50 Pick 43/4/6/11-1-7-5 (4 Correct)$3,715.20$965,503
$0.50 Pick 55-3/4/6/11-1-7-5 (5 Correct)$78,840.75$1,261,471
$1.00 Daily Double7-5$154.20$374,021
$1.00 Exacta5-8$18.80$825,247
$0.10 Superfecta5-8-7-6$77.53$338,486
$0.50 Trifecta5-8-7$35.00$535,381


Previously known as the Louisiana Derby Trial Stakes, in 1989 the race was renamed to honor locally owned Risen Star who won the race in 1988 and went on to win the Preakness and Belmont Stakes and be voted the 1988 Eclipse Award for American Champion Three-Year-Old Male Horse. The distance of the race was originally 1 mile, 40 yards but changed in 1991 to 1 1/16 miles distance. In 2020, the distance of the race was extended to 1 1/8 miles.

2022Epicenter1:49.03Winchell Thoroughbreds LLCSteve AsmussenJoel Rosario3.50
2021Mandaloun1:50.39Juddmonte Farms, Inc.Brad CoxFlorent Geroux2.10
2020*Modernist1:51.28Pam and Martin WygodBill MottJunior Alvarado12.80
2020*Mr. Monomoy1:50.43Madaket Stables LLC, Michael Dubb, and Doheny Racing StableBrad CoxFlorent Geroux7.50
2019War of Will1:44.59Gary BarberMark CasseTyler Gaffalione1.00
2018Bravazo1:42.95Calumet FarmD. Wayne LukasMiguel Mena21.00
2017Girvin1:43.08Brad GradyJoe SharpBrian Hernandez, Jr.8.10
2016Gun Runner1:43.94Winchell Thoroughbreds and Three Chimneys FarmSteve AsmussenFlorent Geroux5.10
2015International Star1:43.82Ken and Sarah RamseyMichael J. MakerMiguel Mena3.80
2014Intense Holiday1:43.86Starlight RacingTodd A. PletcherMike E. Smith5.00
2013Ive Struck a Nerve1:44.52Big Chief Racing, LLCJ. Keith DesormeauxJames Graham135.20
2012El Padrino1:42.96Let's Go StableTodd A. PletcherJavier Castellano0.80*
2011Mucho Macho Man1:43.98Reeves Thoroughbred Racing and Dream Team One Racing StableKatherine RitvoRajiv Maragh3.60
2010Discreetly Mine1:44.88E. Paul Robsham Stables LLCTodd A. PletcherJavier Castellano2.50
2009Friesan Fire1:45.11Vinery Stables and Fox Hill FarmJ. Larry JonesGabriel Saez2.80
2008Pyro1:44.68Winchell Thoroughbreds LLCSteve AsmussenShaun Bridgmohan0.90*
2007Notional1:44.18J. Paul ReddamDoug O'NeillRobby Albarado2.90
2006Lawyer Ron1:43.13James T. Hines, Jr.Robert E. HolthusJohn McKee2.70
2005Scipion1:44.54Virginia Kraft Payson LLCPatrick L. BianconeGary Stevens10.10
2004Gradepoint1:45.36Mount Brilliant Stable LLC and William FarishNeil J. HowardRobby Albarado1.90
2003Badge of Silver1:42.99Ken and Sarah RamseyRonny W. WernerRobby Albarado2.90
2002Repent1:43.17Select StableKenneth G. McPeekTony D'Amico0.70*
2001Dollar Bill1:43.45Gary and Mary West Stables, Inc.Dallas StewartChris McCarron0.90*
2000Exchange Rate1:44.25Padua Stables and Anne SananD. Wayne LukasCorey Nakatani1.60*
1999Ecton Park1:44.83Mark H. StanleyW. Elliott WaldenShane Sellers4.90
1998Comic Strip1:44.27William S. Farish, G. W. Humphrey, Jr. and James ElkinsNeil J. HowardShane Sellers1.30
1997Open Forum1:44.37Robert B. and Beverly J. LewisD. Wayne LukasDonna Barton3.20
1996Zarb's Magic1:42.98Foxwood PlantationW. Bret ThomasElvis Joseph Perrodin15.90
1995Beavers Nose1:45.22R. W. Raymond and D. O. PhillipsEldridge Hebert, Jr.Kenneth Bourque13.50
1995Knockadoon1:45.44W. K. Warren, Jr.Anthony L. ReinstedlerWillie Martinez2.40*
1994Fly Cry1:43.02Al Prats and Bryan WagnerThomas M. AmossRonald Ardoin2.10
1993Dixieland Heat1:43.20Leland CookGerald J. RomeroRandy Romero0.70*
1993Dry Bean1:43.80Loblolly StableThomas K. BohannanAaron Gryder6.70
1992Line in the Sand1:45.00W S Farish Et AlNeil J. HowardShane Romero2.50
1991Big Courage1:46.70Estate of Patsy FoxWilliam I. Fox, Sr.Tammy Fox0.50*
1990Genuine MeaningRobert Asaro Enterprises Inc.Ronnie G. TenhundfeldJohn Hirdes
1989DispersalTom O. MeyerhoffGrover G. DelpBobby J. Walker, Jr.
1989Nooo ProblemaRainbow Group Inc.
(Marshall Lasky)
Donald R. WinfreeShane Romero

Join the Inner Circle

Sign up for exclusive 10% discount on orders, plus be the first to access our daily free and premium horse racing picks, articles, podcasts, and more!