Close menu
NHC Back to Treasure Island for 2017; Record Purse; Thursday Mandatory Races

NHC Back to Treasure Island for 2017; Record Purse; Thursday Mandatory Races

LAS VEGAS (Wednesday, January 27, 2016) – On the eve of the 17th Daily Racing Form/NTRA NHC Presented by Racetrack Television Network and Treasure Island Las Vegas, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) announced today that next year’s NHC 18 will return to Treasure Island for a fifth consecutive year.

“Treasure Island does a terrific job, from Phil Ruffin, the owner, who is a huge racing fan and horseplayer, to Tony Nevill, head of the Race and Sports Book, who takes such good care of horseplayers all year long,” said Keith Chamblin, NTRA Chief Operating Officer, while sharing the news with the NHC qualifiers at Wednesday evening’s welcome reception. “This is a terrific venue and we look forward to continuing our partnership with the TI.”

NHC sites: MGM Grand (2000-2002), Bally’s Las Vegas Hotel & Casino (2003-2007), Red Rock Casino Resort (2008-2011) and Treasure Island Las Vegas (2012-2017).

NHC RECORD FINAL PURSE – The total purse for NHC 17 (cash and prizes) is a record $2,778,760, a 3.6 percent increase over the previous record of $2,681,000 set last year. The massive prize pool allowed the NTRA to increase the number of players who will win cash this year. The top 10 percent of all players after Friday will advance to the Semifinal round on Saturday and be guaranteed a check. First place is worth $800,000 and cash prizes descend gradually down to 63rd. Second place is worth $250,000, third will get $125,000, fourth will cash for $100,000 and fifth will receive $75,000. Other round numbers to remember: $50,000 to 10th place; $10,000 to 50th; and $5,000 to 63rd.

THURSDAY MANDATORY RACES – Eight mandatory races for Thursday’s opening day of play were announced earlier today. Those races, in order of estimated post time (all times Pacific), are: Aqueduct 6 (12:20 p.m.), Oaklawn 4 (12:52 p.m.), Oaklawn 5 (1:19 p.m.), Fair Grounds 7 (2:23 p.m.), Gulfstream 11 (2:35 p.m.), Oaklawn 9 (3:10 p.m.), Santa Anita 6 (3:30 p.m.) and Santa Anita 7 (4 p.m.).

Players are also required to wager on 10 additional races of their choosing from the cards of six eligible tracks: Aqueduct, Fair Grounds, Golden Gate, Gulfstream, Oaklawn and Santa Anita.  Friday’s mandatory races will be announced Thursday at 7 a.m. PT and can be found online at or on the NTRA Twitter account, @NTRA.

Source: NTRA

Join the Inner Circle

Sign up for exclusive 10% discount on orders, plus be the first to access our daily free and premium horse racing picks, articles, podcasts, and more!

Sign Up