Close menu
Keeneland Preview | Hagyard Fayette Stakes 2023: O’Connor Among Several Group/Graded Winners
O'Connor (Coglianese Photos / Ryan Thompson)

Keeneland Preview | Hagyard Fayette Stakes 2023: O’Connor Among Several Group/Graded Winners

A Group 1 winner in Chile, a Grade 2 winner at Santa Anita and five Grade 3 winners are included in a field of 14 that includes two also-eligibles entered today for the 66th running of the Hagyard Fayette (G2) for 3-year-olds and up going 1 1/8 miles on the main track on Saturday, Oct. 28.

The Hagyard Fayette, which serves as the closing-day feature of the 17-day Fall Meet, will go as the ninth race on the 10-race program with a 5:16 p.m. ET post time.

Cash Big At Keeneland With Us

There’s a reason we’re the #1 trusted source for premium racing picks & info.

Michael and Julia Iavarone and Fernando Vine Ode’s O’Connor (CHI) has the 2022 Gran Premio Latinoamericano (G1) at the top of his 10-win resume.

Now trained by Saffie Joseph Jr., O’Connor is winless in five 2023 starts but graded stakes-placed in three of those races. He most recently was fifth in the Woodward (G2). Tyler Gaffalione has the mount from post 9.

Also coming in from New York is Twin Creeks Racing Stable’s Law Professor.

Trained by Rob Atras, Law Professor is a four-time stakes winner with his biggest victory coming in the Santa Anita Mathis Mile (G2) in 2021 and most recently was third in the Woodward. Florent Geroux has the mount from post 8.

The Grade 3 winners in the field are Lothenbach Stables’ Happy American, Fern Circle Stables and Three Chimneys Farm’s King Fury; Albaugh Family Stables and West Point Thoroughbreds’ Giant Game; Alexandres, LLC’s Il Miracolo; and Gary and Mary West’s Best Actor.

Subscribe to any monthly premium package and get our Breeders’ Cup 2023 Betting Bible AND Breeders’ Cup 14 Trends guide FREE! Learn More

Breeders Cup Picks

The field for the Hagyard Fayette, with riders and weight from the rail out, is:

  1. Film Star (Jose Ortiz, 121 pounds)
  2. Happy American (James Graham, 121)
  3. King Fury (Corey Lanerie, 121)
  4. Giant Game (Joel Rosario, 121)
  5. Twilight Blue (Brian Hernandez Jr., 121)
  6. Speed Bias (Ricardo Santana Jr., 121)
  7. Il Miracolo (Luis Saez, 118)
  8. Law Professor (Florent Geroux, 121)
  9. O’Connor (CHI) (Tyler Gaffalione, 121)
  10. Trademark (Martin Garcia, 121)
  11. Dash Attack (John Velazquez, 121)
  12. Best Actor (Flavien Prat, 121)
  13. Also-Eligible: Gasoline (Saez, 121)
  14. Also-Eligible: Time for Trouble (Joe Talamo, 121)