News

Historic Saratoga Race Course 2017 Stakes Schedule

Jamie Coulter/NYRA

SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY – The 2017 meet at the historic Saratoga Race Course will again be highlighted by the Grade 1, $1.2 million Whitney and the Grade 1, $1.25 million Travers, centerpieces for two of the biggest days in North American racing.

The 40-day meet, which includes 69 stakes worth $18.775 million in purses, will run from Friday, July 21, through Labor Day, Monday, September 4. After opening weekend, racing will be conducted six days a week, Wednesdays through Mondays.

On Saturday, August 5, the prestigious 1 1/8-mile Whitney, a “Win and You’re In” qualifier for the $6 million Breeders’ Cup Classic on November 4 at Del Mar, will pair with the Grade 1, $500,000 Test for 3-year-old fillies, with the Grade 3, $200,000 Fasig-Tipton Waya for fillies and mares going 1 1/2 miles over turf rounding out the graded stakes offerings on the first “must-see” card of the meet. Also on August 6 are two additional turf stakes: the $100,000 Fasig-Tipton Lure at 1 1/16 miles and the $100,000 Fasig-Tipton De La Rose for fillies and mares at 1 mile.

Joining the 148th running of the Mid-Summer Derby for 3-year-olds at 1 1/4 miles on Saturday, August 26 will be five other Grade 1 stakes on Travers Day: the $1 million Sword Dancer Invitational at 1 1/2 miles on the turf, the $500,000 Ballerina for filly and mare sprinters, the $600,000 Forego at 7 furlongs, the $500,000 H. Allen Jerkens Memorial (formerly known as the King’s Bishop) for 3-year-olds at 7 furlongs, and the $700,000 Personal Ensign for fillies and mares going 1 1/8 miles. Rounding out the blockbuster card is the Grade 2, $400,000 Woodford Reserve Ballston Spa for fillies and mares over 1 1/16 miles on the turf.

The traditional local prep for the Travers, the Grade 2, $600,000 Jim Dandy, will be held on Saturday, July 29, joined by the Grade 1, $350,000 Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap, the Grade 2, $200,000 Amsterdam, and the Grade 2, $250,000 Bowling Green.

Travers Eve (Friday, August 25) will again feature the popular New York Breeders’ Showcase Day, highlighted by the $250,000 Albany for 3-year-olds going 1 1/8 miles and the $150,000 West Point at 1 1/16 miles on the turf.

Opening Day (Friday, July 21) will kick off with a pair of graded stakes: the Grade 3, $150,000 Schuylerville for 2-year-old fillies and the Grade 3, $150,000 Lake George for 3-year-old turf fillies. Continuing the juvenile dirt stakes tradition at the Spa are the Grade 3, $150,000 Sanford on Saturday, July 22; the Grade 2, $200,000 Saratoga Special on Sunday, August 13; and the Grade 1, $350,000 Hopeful on Monday, September 4; along with their sister races: the Grade 2, $200,000 Adirondack on Saturday, August 12, and the Grade 1, $350,000 Spinaway on Saturday, September 2.

Grade 1 action commences with the $500,000 Diana for turf fillies and mares on Saturday, July 22, and the $300,000 Coaching Club American Oaks for 3-year-old fillies on Sunday, July 23. Continuing the world-class offerings are the aforementioned Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap, Whitney and Test; the Grade 1, $500,000 Fourstardave Handicap at 1 mile over the turf on Saturday, August 12; the Grade 1, $600,000 Alabama on Saturday, August 19; and the Travers, Sword Dancer, Personal Ensign, Forego, Ballerina, and King’s Bishop on Saturday, August 26.

Closing weekend of the 149th meeting at Saratoga features the Grade 1, $750,000 Woodward on Saturday, September 2, with the Grade 2, $250,000 Prioress for 3-year-old fillies taking the spotlight on Sunday, September 3.

Stakes schedule for the 149th meet at Saratoga Race Course

DATE
RACE
PURSE
DISTANCE
Opening weekend
Fri., July. 21
G3 Schuylerville
$150,000
F2YO
6 furlongs
G3 Lake George
$150,000
F3YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sat., July. 22
G1 Diana
$500,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8 (Turf)
G3 Sanford
$150,000
2YO
6 furlongs
Sun., July 23
G1 Coaching Club American Oaks
$300,000
F3YO
1 1/8
Mon., July. 24
Caress
$200,000
F&M 4&UP
5 1/2 (Turf)
Week 2
Wed., July. 26
G2 Honorable Miss H.
$200,000
F&M 3&UP
6 furlongs
Th., July. 27
John Morrissey (NYB)
$100,000
3&UP
6 1/2 furlongs
Fri., July. 28
Curlin
$100,000
3YO
1 1/8
Sat., July. 29
G2 Jim Dandy
$600,000
3YO
1 1/8
G1 Alfred G. Vanderbilt H.
$350,000
3&UP
6 furlongs
G2 Bowling Green
$250,000
4&UP
1 3/8 (Turf)
G2 Amsterdam
$200,000
3YO
6 1/2 furlongs
Sun., July. 30
G3 Shuvee H.
$200,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Mon., July. 31
Coronation Cup
$100,000
F3YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Week 3
Wed., Aug. 2
Shine Again
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
7 furlongs
Th., Aug. 3
G1 A. P. Smithwick Mem. (S’Chase)
$125,000
4&UP
2 1/16 (Turf)
Birdstone
$100,000
3&UP
1 3/4
Fri., Aug. 4
G2 Nat’l Museum of Racing Hall Of Fame
$200,000
3YO
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sat., Aug. 5
G1 Whitney (BC)
$1,200,000
3&UP
1 1/8
G1 Test
$500,000
F3YO
7 furlongs
G3 Fasig-Tipton Waya
$200,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/2 (Turf)
Fasig-Tipton Lure
$100,000
4&UP
1 1/16 (Turf)
Fasig-Tipton De La Rose
$100,000
F&M 4&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
Sun., Aug. 6
Troy H.
$250,000
3&UP
5 1/2 (T)
Alydar
$100,000
4&UP
1 1/8
Mon., Aug. 7
NYSS Cab Calloway
$100,000
3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
Week 4
Wed., Aug. 9
Quick Call
$100,000
3YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Th., Aug. 10
NYSS Statue of Liberty
$100,000
F3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
Fri., Aug. 11
Tale of the Cat
$100,000
3&UP
6 furlongs
Sat., Aug. 12
G1 Fourstardave H.
$500,000
3&UP
1 Mile (Turf)
G2 Adirondack
$200,000
F2YO
6 1/2 furlongs
Sun., Aug. 13
G2 Saratoga Special
$200,000
2YO
6 1/2 furlongs
Mon., Aug. 14
Saratoga Dew (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Week 5
Wed., Aug. 16
Bolton Landing
$100,000
F2YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Th., Aug. 17
Union Avenue (NYB)
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
6 1/2 furlongs
Fri., Aug. 18
Skidmore
$100,000
2YO
5 1/2 (Turf)
Sat., Aug. 19
G1 Alabama
$600,000
F3YO
1 1/4
G2 Lake Placid
$300,000
F3YO
1 1/8 (Turf)
Sun., Aug. 20
Summer Colony
$100,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/8
Mon., Aug. 21
Evan Shipman (NYB)
$100,000
3&UP
1 1/8
Week 6
Wed., Aug. 23
John’s Call
$100,000
3&UP
1 5/8 (Turf)
Th., Aug 24
Riskaverse
$100,000
F3YO
1 Mile (Turf)
G1 New York Turf Writers Cup (S’Chase)
$150,000
4&UP
2 3/8 (Turf)
Fri., Aug. 25
Albany (NYB)
$250,000
3YO
1 1/8
Fleet Indian (NYB)
$200,000
F3YO
1 1/8
Funny Cide (NYB)
$200,000
2YO
6 1/2 furlongs
Seeking the Ante (NYB)
$200,000
F2YO
6 1/2 furlongs
West Point (NYB)
$150,000
3&UP
1 1/16 (Turf)
Yaddo (NYB)
$150,000
F&M 3&UP
1 1/16 (Turf)
Sat., Aug. 26
G1 Travers
$1,250,000
3YO
1 1/4
G1 Sword Dancer
$1,000,000
3&UP
1 1/2 (Turf)
G1 Personal Ensign (BC)

NYRA

To Top