Close menu
Cowan Headlines Overflow Field for Opening Night William Walker
Cowan (Credit: Coady Photography)

Cowan Headlines Overflow Field for Opening Night William Walker

LOUISVILLE, KY – Bill and Corinne Heiligbrodt, Madaket Stables, and Spendthrift Farm’s Cowan, runner-up in last fall’s Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint (G2), tops a field of ten 3-year-olds and two also-eligibles entered in Saturday’s sixth running of the $125,000 William Walker.

The William Walker highlights Saturday’s Opening Night Presented by Budweiser 10-race program to kick off the 38-day Spring Meet that runs through June 26.

The William Walker, scheduled to be run over the Matt Winn Turf Course at 5 ½ furlongs for the first time, will go as the evening’s ninth race with a 10:11 p.m. post time (all times Eastern). First post time is 6 o’clock. The temporary rail on the turf course will be in Lane 3, 22 feet from the inside hedge for racing Saturday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. The rail will be taken down for racing on Oaks and Derby Days.

Full Card Plays Now Available

There’s a reason we’re the #1 trusted source for premium racing picks & info.

Trained by Steve Asmussen, Cowan returns to the races 4 weeks after finishing tenth against older horses, beaten only 4 3/4 lengths, in the Al Quoz Sprint (G1) in Dubai. Luis Saez, who was aboard in Dubai, has the call Saturday night and will exit post 8.

Wesley Ward, who sent out the most recent winner of the William Walker in 2019 with the filly Jo Jo Air, will be represented by two runners: Breeze Easy’s Roderick and Silverton Hill’s Next.

Roderick, who will be ridden by Drayden Van Dyke and exit post 1, returns to the grass for the first time since finishing fifth in the Indian Summer last fall at Keeneland.

Next, who will be ridden by John Velazquez from post 2, won his only start on the grass, with that coming at Kentucky Downs in a maiden race. Saturday will mark his first start since chasing champion Essential Quality in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1) in November.


The field for the William Walker, with riders from the inside: Roderick (Van Dyke), Next (Velazquez), Field Day (Tyler Gaffalione), Kasim (Gerardo Corrales), Unitedandresolute (Florent Geroux), Rockstar Ro (Corey Lanerie), Bodenheimer (Brian Hernandez Jr.), Cowan (Saez), Cees Get Degrees (Colby Hernandez), and Lookin for Loki (Mitchell Murrill). Also-eligibles: Into the Sunrise (Velazquez) and Charles Chrome (Julien Leparoux).

All starters will carry 118 pounds.

Join the Inner Circle

Sign up for exclusive 10% discount on orders, plus be the first to access our daily free and premium horse racing picks, articles, podcasts, and more!

Sign Up