Close menu
2023 Ack Ack Stakes Preview & FREE Picks | Three Technique Returns From Layoff At Churchill
Three Technique (Sue Kawcyznski/Eclipse Sportswire/CSM)

2023 Ack Ack Stakes Preview & FREE Picks | Three Technique Returns From Layoff At Churchill

Aaron previews the 2023 Ack Ack Stakes (G3) from Churchill Downs, then gives his top picks & long shots from this “Win & You’re In” for the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile.

Can the Jason Cook-trained Three Technique win his return from a layoff, or will the rust prove to be too much? Tell us YOUR thoughts in the Comments section!

SMASH the *Thumbs Up* ~ HIT *Subscribe* ~ RING the *Notification* bell

The press release:

Grade 2 winner Three Technique will attempt to garner an all-entry-fees-paid berth into the $1-million Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile (G1) as the headliner of Saturday’s 31st running of the $400,000 Ack Ack (G3) at Churchill Downs.

The one-mile Ack Ack Stakes is a Breeders’ Cup “Win and You’re In” contest for the  Dirt Mile Nov. 4 at Santa Anita. The Ack Ack will go as Race 9 of 11 Saturday with a post time of 4:55 p.m. (ET). First post is 12:45 p.m. The stellar program also features the 10th running of the $500,000 Lukas Classic (G2) and 43rd running of the $200,000 Jefferson Cup.


Did you know active subscribers receive our Betting Bibles absolutely FREE? Subscribe today and be the first to receive our upcoming MONSTER 2023 Breeders’ Cup Betting Bible!

In the Ack Ack, David Miler, Eric Grindley and John Werner’s  Three Technique will attempt to win his seventh overall race when he breaks from post No. 3 under Rafael Bejarano.

Trained by Jason Cook, Three Technique hasn’t competed since his 3 ¾-length score in the July 1 John A. Nerud (G2) July 1 at Belmont but has remained in steady training at Trackside Louisville, located about five miles from Churchill Downs. A 6-year-old son of Mr Speaker, Three Technique ran in last year’s Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile but only managed a sixth-place finish.

There are several other accomplished horses entered in the Ack Ack, including John Gunther’s R. A. Cowboy Jones winner Stage Raider; Barry and Joni Butzow’s two-time stakes winner Zozos; and Bernard Racing, Tagg Team Racing, West Point Thoroughbreds, and Terry Stephens’ four-time winner O Besos.

Here is the complete Ack Ack field (with jockey and trainer):

  1. Seize the Night (Jon Court, Jade Cunningham)
  2. O Besos (Tyler Gaffalione, Greg Foley)
  3. Three Technique (Rafael Bejarano, Jason Cook)
  4. Stage Raider (Brian Hernandez Jr., Cherie DeVaux)
  5. Zozos (Florent Geroux, Brad Cox)
  6. Skyro (James Graham, Brian Lynch)
  7. Caddo River (Declan Cannon, Wayne Lukas)